Back to Listing

Centre for Community Schools

Nelson Mandela University

  • Program Civil Society
  • Program Area Special Initiatives
  • Grant Amount $100,000
  • Grant Period August 1, 2016–June 30, 2021
  • Location Port Elizabeth, South Africa
  • Geographic Focus Eastern Cape, Province of

About this grant

The Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University was established in 2005 as a result of a merger between the Port Elizabeth Technikon and the University of Port Elizabeth (incorporating Vista University) in South Africa. The Centre for Community Schools is an entity of the university established to promote theoretical- and practice-based approaches to school improvement that are relevant and responsive to the contextual realities of schools. As part of its community outreach efforts, the center assisted in the establishment of a community of practice for a number of schools based in the Port Elizabeth area, called the Manyano Network of Community Schools. This grant will enable the Centre for Community Schools to support the Manyano Network of Community Schools and conduct research on how this model could be expanded to other parts of South Africa.