Back to Listing

The G-20 Architecture in 2020

University of Victoria

  • Program Exploratory and Special Projects
  • Program Area Special Projects
  • Grant Amount $100,000
  • Grant Period September 1, 2003–December 31, 2006
  • Location Victoria, Canada
  • Geographic Focus World

About this grant

The Group of 20 (G-20), created in 1999, is the most recent international entity to emerge as part of the global financial architecture. It includes the eight countries of the G-8: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States; and 10 newly industrialized or emerging market countries: Argentina, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea and Turkey; as well as Australia and the European Union Commission. The mandate of the G-20 is to promote international financial stability through deliberative processes oriented toward policy reforms arrived at through consensus or near-consensus among members.Funding will support efforts to research and publish a set of eight or nine commissioned papers and identify the possible future evolution of the composition, institutional machinery and key issues that could be addressed by the G-20. The papers will be commissioned from a diverse set of experts in the field. The project includes a process involving two meetings prior to the public debate of the papers. The papers will be collected in a bound publication and widely distributed among civil society, government representatives and practitioners in the field. The University of Victoria, one of Canada’s leading universities, is widely recognized for its innovative and responsive programs and its interdisciplinary and international activities.