Back to Listing

Centre for Community Schools

Nelson Mandela University

  • Program Civil Society
  • Program Area Special Initiatives
  • Grant Amount $20,000
  • Grant Period August 1, 2016–June 30, 2021
  • Location Port Elizabeth, South Africa
  • Geographic Focus Eastern Cape, Province of

About this grant

The Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University was established in 2005 as a result of a merger between the Port Elizabeth Technikon and the University of Port Elizabeth in South Africa. The Centre for the Community Schools is an entity of the University that aims to promote, strengthen, and support the work of community schools in the Eastern Cape. To support the work of community schools in the province, the grantee assisted with the establishment of the Manyano Network of Community Schools—a community of practice made up of a number of schools based in communities across Port Elizabeth. This grant increase will enable the Centre for Community Schools to fully embed the community school concept in schools and support site coordinators as they complete their outreach work.